Close

Alexander Mayer

Orchestra Conductor

Events

Mozart & Strauss

Philharmonisches Orchester Vorpommern

Date
10/05/2022

Time
07:30 pm

Venue
Theater, Stralsund
Deutschland

Mozart & Strauss

Philharmonisches Orchester Vorpommern

Date
10/06/2022

Time
07:30 pm

Venue
Theater, Stralsund
Deutschland

Mozart & Strauss

Philharmonisches Orchester Vorpommern

Date
10/07/2022

Time
07:30 pm

Venue
Theater, Stralsund
Deutschland

Biography

Since the beginning of the 21/22 season, Alexander Mayer has been 1st Kapellmeister and Deputy General Music Director at Theater Vorpommern. In addition to concerts with the Philharmonic Orchestra of Western Pomerania, he is responsible for new productions of Ernst Krenek’s Jonny spielt auf, Rossini’s Cenerentola and Gluck’s Orfeo, as well as performances of Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker, Verdi’s La Traviata, Lehár’s Merry Widow and Ralph Benatzky’s Meine Schwester und ich.

Prior to this engagement, his path led him to Switzerland, where he first served as assistant conductor at the Geneva Opera and then as music director of the Ensemble Symphonique Neuchâtel from 2010-2019. During this time, he firmly established the orchestra, which was formed from a merger in 2008, in the Swiss musical landscape, as evidenced not least by invitations to renowned concert series and regular radio broadcasts. In 2013-2017 he also led the Sinfonietta de Lausanne to much acclaimed successes as music director.

 

Alexander enjoys seeking the exchange with other styles and cultures, such as electronic music, klezmer or the world of Arabic music. He performs with renowned soloists such as Gautier Capuçon, Tzimon Barto, Geir Draugsvoll, Ghalia Benali, Jane Birkin or Kolsimcha and orchestras such as the New Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, Orchestra Filarmonica di Torino, Orchestra Sinfonica Siciliana, Kristiansand Symphony Orchestra, Württembergischen Philharmonie Reutlingen and the Südwestdeutsches Kammerorchester Pforzheim. In the current season, he will make his debut with the Orchestra Haydn di Bolzano e Trento with a series of eight New Year’s concerts.

 

Alexander studied church music and orchestral conducting under Leo Krämer and Max Pommer’s tutelage at the University of Music Saar. He has participated in masterclasses with Neeme Järvi, Gennady Rozhdestvensky, Frieder Bernius and Stefan Parkman, and has assisted John Nelson and Donald Runnicles. In 2003, he won the Tokyo International Music Competition for Conducting.

In addition to his work with professional orchestras, his work with young people and amateurs is of great concern to him. Thus, from 2008-2021, he was Principal Guest Conductor of the Saar State Youth Symphony Orchestra, and in 2020 he again took over the musical direction of the Kaiserslautern District Symphony Orchestra, one of the best German amateur orchestras, with which he already worked very successfully from 1999 – 2013. In addition to his conducting activities, Alexander regularly performs as an organist and chamber musician.

 

Impressions

Portraits

Schließen

Alexander Mayer

Dirigent

Termine

Weihnachtskonzert

Philharmonisches Orchester Vorpommern

Datum
10.12.2022

Uhrzeit
18:00

Veranstaltungsort
Greifswald, Kaisersaal
Deutschland

Weihnachtskonzert

Philharmonisches Orchester Vorpommern

Datum
11.12.2022

Uhrzeit
16:00

Veranstaltungsort
Greifswald, Kaisersaal
Deutschland

Der Nussknacker - Wiederaufnahmenpremiere

Theater Vorpommern

Datum
14.12.2022

Uhrzeit
19:30

Veranstaltungsort
Theater, Stralsund
Deutschland

Biografie

Seit Beginn der Spielzeit 21/22 ist Alexander Mayer 1. Kapellmeister und stellvertretender Generalmusikdirektors am Theater Vorpommern. Dort zeichnet er neben Konzerten mit dem Philharmonischen Orchester Vorpommern verantwortlich für die Neueinstudierungen von Ernst Kreneks Jonny spielt auf, Rossinis Cenerentola und Glucks Orfeo, sowie für Wiederaufnahmen und Aufführungen von Tschaikowskys Nussknacker, Verdis La Traviata, Lehárs Lustige Witwe, Brittens Ein Sommernachtstraum und Ralph Benatzkys Meine Schwester und ich.

Vor diesem Engagement führte ihn sein Weg in die Schweiz, wo er zunächst als Assistent an der Genfer Oper und dann von 2010-2019 als Musikdirektor des Ensemble Symphonique Neuchâtel tätig war. In dieser Zeit hat er das 2008 aus einer Fusion entstandene Orchester fest in der Schweizer Musiklandschaft etabliert, wovon nicht zuletzt Einladungen in renommierte Konzertreihen und regelmäßige Rundfunkübertragungen zeugen. 2013-2017 führte er als Musikdirektor auch die Sinfonietta de Lausanne zu vielbeachteten Erfolgen.

In seinen Programmen sucht Alexander immer wieder auch den Austausch mit anderen Stilrichtungen und Kulturen wie beispielsweise der elektronischen Musik, des Klezmers, oder auch der Welt der arabischen Musik. Dabei konzertiert er mit renommierten Solisten wie Gautier Capuçon, Tzimon Barto, Jane Birkin, Ghalia Benali oder Kolsimcha und Orchestern wie dem New Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, Orchestra Filarmonica di Torino, Orchestra Sinfonica Siciliana, dem Kristiansand Symphony Orchestra, der Württembergischen Philharmonie Reutlingen und dem Südwestdeutschen Kammerorchester Pforzheim. In der aktuellen Saison wird er mit einer Serie von acht Neujahrskonzerten beim Orchestra Haydn di Bolzano e Trento debütieren.

Alexander studierte Kirchenmusik und Orchesterleitung an der Hochschule für Musik Saar, unter anderem bei Leo Krämer und Max Pommer. Meisterkurse führten ihn zu Neeme Järvi, Gennady Rozhdestvensky und Frieder Bernius, Assistenzen zu John Nelson und Donald Runnicles. 2003 gewann er den Internationalen Dirigierwettbewerb Tokio.

Neben der Arbeit mit professionellen Orchestern ist ihm die Arbeit mit Jugendlichen und Amateuren ein großes Anliegen. So war er von 2008-2021 Erster Gastdirigent des Landes-Jugend-Symphonie-Orchesters Saar und übernahm 2020 erneut die Musikalische Leitung des Sinfonieorchesters des Landkreises Kaiserslautern, eines der besten deutschen Amateurorchester, mit dem er bereits 1999 – 2013 sehr erfolgreich zusammenarbeitete. Neben seinen dirigistischen Aktivitäten tritt Alexander regelmäßig als Organist und Kammermusiker auf.

Eindrücke

Portraits